Women in Business Law Awards Asia-Pacific 2022: shortlist revealed

The Women in Business Law Awards have released the full list of finalists for their 2022 APAC Awards.

The awards come together to recognize leading female lawyers in the region and celebrate law firms that have impressive initiatives to promote diversity and women in the legal industry.

The winners will be announced on September 15, 2022.

An overview of the practice area and Rising Star finalists is available below and the full list of finalists for all is available on the awards website. The Women in Business Law Awards research team carefully selected each finalist after an extensive research period that included analysis of direct submissions, client feedback and extensive deliberation.

Individual practitioners and rising stars are judged not only on the complexity of the work done by the nominees in 2021, but also on their advocacy, influence and thought leadership with regard to the advancement of women in the practice of law and in their areas of specialization.

Law firm initiatives are recognized in various categories, including for gender diversity and work-life balance.

All works accepted for shortlisting were closed during the research period, which was from January 1 to December 31, 2021. The awards do not recognize cases, deals, or transactions concluded outside of the research period.

If you have any questions about our research process, please contact editor John Harrison.

The Women in Business Law Awards will announce the winners on September 15 during a virtual awards ceremony. To learn more – and how to promote your success – please contact Anicette Indiana.

Insight from the shortlist of the Women in Business Law Awards APAC 2022:

Tax Litigation Lawyer of the Year

Angela Wood – Clayton Utz

Angelina Lagana – KPMG

Carmen McElwain – Minter Ellison

Chun Ying Ng – Dentons

Faranaaz Karbhari – HAS Legal

Fiona Moore – EY

Il Young Cho – Bae Kim & Lee

Ken Loon Ong – Drew & Napier

Transfer Pricing Lawyer of the Year

Adriana Calderon – Asia Transfer Pricing Solutions

Cecilia Lee – PwC

Felicia Chia – KPMG

Fiona Craig – Deloitte

Natalya Marenina – Natalya Marenina

Tae Yeon Nam – Kim & Chang

Tax rising star

Aasmee Mangla – NITYA Tax Associates

Anna Chan – Oldham Li & Nie

Gouri Puri – Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co

Heamin Kim – Bae Kim & Lee

Krystal Ng – Wong & Partners

Nuttaros Tangprasitti – Nishimura & Asahi

Ruchita Shah – Practice of Economic Laws

Shabnam Sheikh – Khaitan & Co

Shareen Gupta – JSA